Spaces available in our IELTS Evening classes Register now!



ISSofBC’s board of directors is a body of elected members who jointly oversee the activities of the organization.

The board’s underlying purpose is to carry out the ISSofBC Mission Statement: Helping immigrants build a future in Canada.

The board’s responsibilities include:

  • Governance of the Society
  • Strategic Vision and Development
  • Fiduciary Oversight

Annual General Meeting

ISSofBC holds an Annual General Meeting (AGM) within six months of the end of the fiscal year. The AGM is an opportunity to:

  • present ISSofBC’s Annual Report;
  • conduct the business of membership
  • celebrate the contributions and successes of ISSofBC over the previous year, and;
  • introduce ISSofBC bursaries to recipients and present their awards.

At the Annual General Meeting on September 29, 2016, the following persons were elected to ISSofBC’s Board of Directors.

Jim Tallman President
Maria Braungart 1st Vice-President
Joann McKinlay 2nd Vice-President
Nicolas Lozovsky Treasurer
Brandon Hastings Secretary
Jack Wong Member-at-Large
Naomi Linklater Director
V. Setty Pendakur Director
Sasha Ramnarine Director
Joseph Chan Director
Catherine Der Director

Read the biographies of all of our board members.